Musings of a Fashionista

I’ve got an “Empire State of Mind”

Posted on: March 30, 2010

I was in New York City, a fashion capitol, home to 8 million people, and my favorite city.

I was humming Alicia Keys’ “Empire State of Mind” with the lyric:

“These streets will make you feel brand new/
The lights will inspire you/
Lets’ hear it for New York, New York, New York”  (from Metrolyrics.com)

I went to see the Intrepid, a WWII aircraft carrier, and (of course) to scope out the trends.  Since the weather wasn’t that nice, I was wearing my very unfashionable Disney poncho.  But hey, it kept me warm.

Onto the trends.  I saw a lot of tights with skirts and boots.  Also, rain boots. Which makes sense, based on the awful weather.

Like these two rain boots.

I like the style, but I like my FUGGs better.

I also peeked my head, windblown bob and all, into Macy’s.  A place like Macy’s is perfect for spotting trends.  So, I saw a lot of ruffles, orange, and blue.  Seems good to me, except the orange.  To help you not over-ruffle (new word!  Yay!), I’ve made this Polyvore creation for you.

Ruffles
Hugs and air Kisses,
The Fashionista
3 Responses to "I’ve got an “Empire State of Mind”"

I love the plaid boots! A very special person I know loves to wear plaid sneakers. It’s kinda her signature shoe style, and I dig it!

Distinctive shoes are good.

Those white boots are so cute!! Guess what?? i can now fit into cool shoes for grownups!! Like heels.. because i went up to a 6 1/2 or a 6.

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 45,199 fashionistas looking at this blog

Wondering what was trendy in ____?

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

What YOU think is in

Top Clicks

  • None

Categories

